College of Liberal Arts & Sciences


Harry Heath/Lou Thompson, Jr. Advising Award

Lou Thompson, former chair of the Greenlee School's Advisory Council, founded the award in the name of his own adviser, Harry Heath, journalism professor and alumnus.

Click here to view past winners of the Harry Heath/Lou Thompson, Jr. Award.

Hugh Sidey Award

The Hugh S. Sidey Scholarship in Print Journalism at the Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication was established in 2006 at Mr. Sidey’s alma mater, Iowa State University, by the White House Historical Association and Mr. David M. Rubenstein. To keep alive Hugh Sidey’s legacy of reporting on the presidency, the scholarship will support aspiring print journalists at the Greenlee School. Undergraduate students who exhibit extraordinary understanding of the responsibilities of covering the chief executive and the core principle of social responsibility that resides with the print journalist will be identified for this award.

Click here to view past winners of the Hugh Sidey Award.

James W. Schwartz Award

The James W. Schwartz Award is the highest honor conferred by the Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication. It is awarded in honor of James Schwartz, former department chair of the school. The School’s advisory council and faculty nominate candidates, and faculty members select the winner.

Click here to view past winners of the James W. Schwartz Award.